U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. Ipef

Was this page helpful?

Indo-Pacific Economic Framework

In May 2022, the United States launched the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity (IPEF) with Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

This framework will advance resilience, sustainability, inclusiveness, economic growth, fairness, and competitiveness for our economies. Through this initiative, the IPEF partners aim to contribute to cooperation, stability, prosperity, development, and peace within the region.  This framework will offer tangible benefits that fuel economic activity and investment, promote sustainable and inclusive economic growth, and benefit workers and consumers across the region.  The 14 IPEF partners represent 40 percent of global GDP and 28 percent of global goods and services trade.

The launch began discussions of future negotiations on the following pillars: (1) Trade; (2) Supply Chains; (3) Clean Energy, Decarbonization, and Infrastructure; and (4) Tax and Anti-Corruption.  The IPEF is designed to be flexible, meaning that IPEF partners are not required to join all four pillars.

The White House Fact Sheet on the IPEF is available here.


  • Latest News

    IPEF will strengthen our ties in this critical region to define the coming decades for technological innovation and the global economy. Stay informed and get the latest news on IPEF.

  • IPEF Country Flags

    Since its launch in May, IPEF countries have engaged in intensive discussions to scope out each pillar of the Framework: Trade; Supply Chains; Clean Economy; and Fair Economy. These four pillars collectively comprise a framework that represents a shared vision for an open, connected, prosperous, and resilient Indo-Pacific region.