U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Press Releases

Was this page helpful?

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo Celebrates American Innovation at the 61st President’s “E” and “E Star” Award Ceremony


Today, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo hosted the 61st President’s “E” and “E Star” Awards ceremony at the Herbert C. Hoover Building, where she presented 19 U.S. companies and organizations with the President’s “E” or “E Star” Award. The “E” and “E Star” awards are the highest recognition a U.S. entity can receive for making a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports. Of the 19 recipients, 14 are small and-medium-sized businesses and 5 are manufacturers. This year’s recipients come from 15 different states.

“U.S. exports are a crucial component of our global commercial engagement and example of our competitiveness in the global marketplace,” Secretary Raimondo said. “I’m thrilled to recognize the achievements of this year’s recipients for showcasing the innovation and dynamism that is characteristic of America’s private sector.”

The President’s “E” Award was created in 1961 by Executive Order of the President. It is the highest recognition a U.S. entity can receive for making a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports.

“E” Award for Exports

This year, nine companies were honored with the “E” Award for Exports for demonstrating a sustained increase in export sales over a four-year period.

  • Academica International Studies, Miami, Florida
  • Best Buy Grocers, Inc, Seattle, Washington
  • Control Station, Inc., Manchester, Connecticut
  • Holtec Gas Systems, LLC, Saint Charles, Missouri
  • MGK International, Inc., Princeton, New Jersey
  • Montachem International Inc., Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Mott Corporation, Farmington, Connecticut
  • Truckee Meadows Community College, Reno, Nevada
  • Vertex International, Inc., Oak Brook, Illinois

“E” Award for Export Service

Five companies and organizations received the “E” Award for Export Service for assisting and facilitating export activities.

  • E.M. Wasylik Associates, Waunakee, Wisconsin
  • First National Bank of Omaha, Omaha, Nebraska
  • Montana Department of Commerce – Export Montana, Helena, Montana
  • Rapport International, Sudbury, Massachusetts
  • Tammany Corporation, Mandeville, Louisiana

“E Star” Award for Exports

Three companies received the “E” Star Award for Exports, which recognizes previous “E” Awardees that have reported four years of additional export growth.

  • Beekley Medical, Bristol, Connecticut
  • Grand-Rock Company Inc, Painesville, Ohio
  • Technologent, Irvine, California

“E Star” Award for Export Service

Two entities were awarded the “E” Star Award for Export Service, which recognizes previous “E” Awardees that have shown four years of continued support of exporters since first winning the “E” Award.

  • Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • WES Inc., Denver, Colorado

Companies are nominated for “E” Awards through the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service office network, located within the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration. Record years of successive export growth and an applicant’s demonstration of an innovative international marketing plan that led to the increase in exports is a significant factor in selecting the overall winners.

For more information about the “E” Awards and the benefits of exporting, visit www.trade.gov.