U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Press Releases

Was this page helpful?

U.S. Department of Commerce Welcomes Additional Biden-Harris Appointees


The U.S. Department of Commerce announced today key appointments to lead the Department and its bureaus to create good-paying jobs, strengthen American businesses, and build back better and more equitably.

“We look forward to working with this diverse group of accomplished professionals to fulfill Commerce’s mission and advance the priorities of the Biden-Harris Administration,” said Chief of Staff Mike Harney. “We are thrilled to have their talent and expertise on our team as we continue empowering American workers and businesses to innovate, grow, and compete globally.”

New senior appointees and their roles are listed in alphabetical order by last name and office.

Office of the Secretary:

  • Liani Balasuriya – Director, Executive Secretariat 
  • Georgette Brammer – Director of Scheduling and Advance  
  • Ronnie Chatterji – Chief Economist
  • Aviva Feuerstein – Deputy Director of Public Affairs and Speechwriter
  • Roosevelt Holmes – Deputy Director of Public Engagement
  • Jennifer Kaplan – Senior Advisor, Private Sector Engagement
  • Caitlin Legacki – Senior Advisor, Strategic Communications
  • Jeremy Licht – Deputy General Counsel for Strategic Initiatives
  • Laura O’Neill – Director of Public Engagement
  • Jaclyn Portfilio – Policy Advisor
  • Sree Ramaswamy – Senior Policy Advisor

Office of the Deputy Secretary:

  • Mira Patel – Senior Advisor
  • Jason Rodriguez – Chief of Staff

Economic Development Administration (EDA):

  • Michele Chang – Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy
  • Maria Messick – Special Advisor
  • Molly Ritner – Chief of Staff

International Trade Administration (ITA):

  • Monica Gorman – Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing

Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA):

  • Miguel Estien – Senior Advisor

National Telecommunication and Information Administration (NTIA):  

  • Philip Murphy – Senior Advisor


Bureaus and Offices