Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)

Organizations and Groups

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) is a licensing, regulatory, and enforcement agency that advances U.S. national security, foreign policy, and economic objectives by ensuring an effective export control and treaty compliance system and by promoting continued U.S. strategic technology leadership and a strong defense industrial base. BIS administers and enforces the Export Administration Regulations (EAR), which regulate the export and reexport of commercial commodities and technology, as well as less sensitive military items. BIS has a team of special enforcement agents and analysts, singularly focused on enforcing export control regulations. The special agents are located in offices in nine major U.S. cities and in six major economic hubs abroad.

In 2009, the President announced the Export Control Reform (ECR) Initiative, a comprehensive policy reform effort aimed at updating the Nation’s export control system; BIS has been part of the interagency effort. ECR strengthens our national security and enhances the competitiveness of key U.S. manufacturing and technology sectors by: (1) improving our interoperability with our close friends and allies; (2) strengthening the U.S. defense industrial base by reducing the current incentives for foreign manufacturers to “design out” controlled U.S.-origin parts; (3) focusing our limited resources on the threats that matter most; and (4) easing the licensing burden on U.S. exporters.


Under Secretary of Commerce for Export Administration


Show content and files with any selected organizations or groups
Show content and files with any selected leadership officials
Narrow content and files by all selected categories
Narrow content and files by all selected tags

Related content


Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships