Was this page helpful?

Census Bureau Announces Retirement of Director John H. Thompson


Today the Census Bureau announced the June 30th retirement of Bureau Director John H. Thompson after a long and distinguished career of public service. John H. Thompson was sworn in as the 24th U.S. Census Bureau Director on August 8, 2013.

“My tenure at the Census Bureau has been a richly rewarding capstone to my federal career,” said Director Thompson. “As I pursue opportunities in the private sector, please be assured that I will continue to be supportive of the Administration’s priority to have a complete and accurate 2020 Census.”

Prior to serving as Director, Thompson had a distinguished career at the Census Bureau from 1975 to 2002. As an Associate Director, he was the senior career executive responsible for all aspects of the 2000 Census. Prior to that, Thompson served as Chief of the Decennial Management Division.

“Thank you to Director Thompson for your three decades of public service,” said Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross. “A complete and accurate Census is an important and monumental task, and your experience will be greatly missed.”

Before rejoining the Census in 2013, Thompson was Executive Vice President and then Chief Executive Office of the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago from 2002 to 2013.  During that time, he also participated as a member of the Committee on National Statistics Panel on the design of the 2010 Census Program of Evaluations and Experiments and the Panel to Review the 2010 Census.

Bureaus and Offices