U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker Announces New Trade Advisory Committee Members


Thursday, October 27, 2016

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker today announced the appointment of 20 inaugural members of the Trade Finance Advisory Council (TFAC). Established in August 2016, the TFAC will advise the Secretary on policies and programs that will expand access to finance for U.S. exporters and educate them on available U.S. government resources.

“Access to capital is critical for U.S. firms competing in foreign markets,” said Secretary Pritzker. “Expanding available financing options allows U.S. exporters, particularly small and medium-sized businesses, to sell more of their world-class products, services, and technologies to consumers around the globe. Increased trade leads directly to stronger economies and new jobs in cities and towns across our nation.”

TFAC members represent banks, other trade finance organizations, exporters, and research institutions. TFAC will provide perspectives from a diversity of stakeholders in order to obtain balanced and comprehensive insights on the current challenges and prospects for U.S. exporters in accessing finance.

The appointees for the Trade Finance Advisory Council’s first two-year term are:

  • Chris Bozek, Managing Director, North America Head of Trade and Global Trade Product Head, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Charlotte, N.C. (TFAC Chair)
  • Lauren Wilk, Director of Trade Facilitation Policy, National Association of Manufacturers, Washington, D.C. (TFAC Vice Chair)
  • Peter Bowe, Chief Executive Officer, Ellicott Dredge Enterprises, Baltimore, Md.
  • William Cummins, Executive State Director, Alabama Small Business Development Center, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
  • Adam Dener, Managing Principal, Fermat Capital Management, LLC., Westport, Conn.
  • Stacey Facter, Senior Vice President - Trade Products, Bankers Association for Finance and Trade, Washington, D.C.
  • Timothy Gaul, International Export Finance Director, Caterpillar Financial Services Corporation, Nashville, Tenn.
  • David Herer, Chief Executive Officer, ABC-Amega Inc., Buffalo, N.Y.
  • Karsten Herrmann, Senior Vice President, Manager Political Risk and Trade Credit, Munich Reinsurance America Inc., Princeton, N.J.
  • Samuel Hodges, Co-Founder and U.S. Managing Director, Funding Circle, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Inwha Huh, Executive Vice President - Regional Head Global Trade and Receivables, HSBC Bank, USA N.A., New York, N.Y.
  • Kevin Klowden, Executive Director California Center, Milken Institute, Santa Monica, Calif.
  • Todd McCracken, President and CEO, National Small Business Association, Washington, D.C.
  • Gary Mendell, President, Meridian Finance Group, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Mark Roberts, Vice President Specialty Banking, Alliance Bank of Arizona, Phoenix, Ariz.
  • Sergio Rodriguera, Jr., Chief Strategy Officer, The Credit Junction, New York, N.Y.
  • Louis Tierno, Vice President - Global Trade Product Manager, Fulton Financial Corporation, Lancaster, Pa.
  • Robert Trojan, Chief Executive Officer, Commercial Finance Association, New York, N.Y.
  • Barbara Wight, Chief Financial Officer, Taylor Guitars, El Cajon, Calif.
  • Steven Wilburn, Chief Executive Officer, FirmGreen Inc., Newport Beach, Calif.

The TFAC’s inaugural meeting will be held on November 18, in Washington. To learn more about the U.S. Department of Commerce Trade Finance Advisory Council, visit www.trade.gov/TFAC

Last updated: 2016-10-27 14:45

Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships