U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker to Join Secretary of State John Kerry for the U.S.-India Strategic Dialogue


Thursday, July 24, 2014

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker will join Secretary of State John Kerry for the U.S.-India Strategic Dialogue in New Delhi on July 31. Secretary Pritzker will lead discussions aimed at helping strengthen economic ties between the U.S. and India through collaboration in several key sectors. Their trip will mark the first U.S. Cabinet-level visit to New Delhi since the new Indian government was elected.

“There are tremendous opportunities for collaboration between the U.S. and India, the two largest democracies in the world,” said Secretary Pritzker. “The Strategic Dialogue will play a key role in advancing the vital commercial relationship between our two countries. As the new Indian government defines its policy agenda to focus on economic growth and job creation, we look forward to identifying opportunities for U.S. companies to engage in the market and create increased prosperity in both of our nations.”

Prior to the Strategic Dialogue, Secretary Pritzker will visit Mumbai for meetings with Indian business leaders.

The United States enjoys a robust trade and investment relationship with India. Two-way trade between the U.S. and India has grown five-fold since 2000, and reached about $96 billion in 2013. U.S. companies have made investments in India totaling $28 billion, and Indian foreign direct investment in the U.S. stands at $9 billion.

The U.S. Commerce Department’s Commercial Service has its largest overseas footprint in India, with staff operating out of seven cities to help U.S. businesses navigate the local markets and facilitate the exports of U.S. goods and services.

Related content

Last updated: 2017-09-21 13:19

Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships