U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker Announces Call for New Members to the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship


Tuesday, June 17, 2014

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker today announced a call for applications for membership on the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (NACIE) – a federal advisory committee that advises the Secretary of Commerce on issues related to accelerating innovation and expanding entrepreneurship, with an added focus on job-driven skills training that creates jobs and spurs innovation. The Commerce Department is now accepting applications for new Council members through July 14, 2014.

“As the voice of business in the Administration, the Commerce Department works to promote policies and initiatives that foster innovation and the success of our entrepreneurs,” said Secretary Pritzker. “One of the Commerce Department’s main priorities, through our ‘Open for Business Agenda,’ is to accelerate industry-led workforce training, which is a key component of economic growth and global competitiveness. NACIE has been an important tool in the Department’s efforts to strengthen innovation and entrepreneurship and develop a globally competitive workforce in the United States.”

NACIE was originally established as part of the America COMPETES Act in 2010. The Council will operate as an independent entity within the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (OIE), which is housed within the Commerce Department’s Economic Development Administration. In May 2014, Secretary Pritzker announced the appointment of Julie Lenzer Kirk as the Director of OIE, which works to foster a more innovative economy by helping entrepreneurs turn new ideas into products and technologies that spur job growth and competitiveness and promote economic development.

The Secretary of Commerce will appoint up to 30 NACIE members for a two-year term. NACIE members will identify and recommend solutions to issues critical to driving the innovation economy, including enabling entrepreneurs and firms to successfully access and develop a skilled, globally competitive workforce. The Council will also serve as a vehicle for ongoing dialogue with the entrepreneurship and workforce development communities, including working with business and trade associations.

Council members will be selected in a way that ensures balanced perspectives and varied expertise in terms of innovation, entrepreneurship and skills training, including members who represent wide-ranging geographic locations and experience from industry, government, academia and non-governmental organizations.

Applications must be received by July 14, 2014, to be considered for membership. Applications can be submitted electronically to NACIE@DOC.gov or by mail to the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Attn: Julie Lenzer Kirk, 1401 Constitution Avenue NW, 7thFloor, Washington, DC 20230. To view the Federal Register notice, visit https://federalregister.gov/a/2014-14153.

Related content

Last updated: 2015-09-25 17:29

Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships