Statement by U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker on Kathleen Sebelius


Friday, April 11, 2014

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker today issued the following statement on the resignation of Kathleen Sebelius as U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary.

"Kathleen Sebelius has worked tirelessly to ensure that every American has access to affordable healthcare, and there are now 7.5 million Americans who benefit from those efforts. Kathleen dedicated the past five years to helping all Americans get the resources and services to live healthier lives, and she led the Department of Health and Human Services during one of the most important periods of transformation in American healthcare. We are grateful for her service, not only as Secretary, but also for her more than 20 years of leadership serving Kansas as governor, insurance commissioner and Kansas House representative.

I am proud to call Kathleen a friend and wish her all the best as she moves on to new endeavors. Sylvia Matthews Burwell is also a terrific choice to fill Kathleen’s shoes as she has done great work leading the Office of Management and Budget, and I look forward to continue working with her once confirmed."

Last updated: 2017-01-26 15:38

Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships