Statement from U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker on the Confirmation of Kelly R. Welsh as U.S. Commerce Department General Counsel


Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Today, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker issued the following statement on the confirmation of Kelly R. Welsh as the U.S. Department of Commerce’s General Counsel. 

“I am very pleased that the U.S. Senate has confirmed Kelly Welsh as the Commerce Department’s next General Counsel. As the Department’s chief legal officer, the General Counsel has a critical impact on policies that support our efforts to strengthen the economy. Having known Kelly for many years, I am confident that his judgment and private sector experience will be invaluable to the Department as we work to promote trade and investment, encourage innovation, unleash our data and protect the environment. I also want to thank Justin Antonipillai for his excellent work as our Acting General Counsel over the last several months. I look forward to continuing to work with Justin as part of our senior leadership team.”

Last updated: 2014-04-04 10:36

Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below