Statement from U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker on the Introduction of the Bipartisan Congressional Trade Priorities Act Of 2014


Thursday, January 9, 2014

Today, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker commended the introduction of the Bipartisan Congressional Trade Priorities Act of 2014, which would provide Congressional guidance on the negotiation and passage of trade agreements.

“As the leading trade and investment promotion agency in the federal government, the U.S. Department of Commerce is committed to doing everything we can to ensure that America remains globally competitive. U.S. trade and investment are critical to fueling our economic growth,” said Secretary Pritzker. “Ninety-five percent of the world’s consumers are outside of our borders, and completing trade agreements that help more American companies reach these markets will create more jobs in the U.S. at higher wages. The Bipartisan Congressional Trade Priorities Act of 2014 will help in these efforts to expand market access for American businesses, ensure a level playing field for companies selling their goods abroad, and support the creation of more American jobs. We look forward to working with Congress on bipartisan passage of Trade Promotion Authority."

Related content

Last updated: 2015-04-20 14:25

Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships