National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Organizations and Groups

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is one of the Nation’s oldest physical science laboratories. At NIST world class science connects to real-world applications. With a varied research portfolio, unique facilities, national networks and international partnerships on standards and technology, NIST works to support U.S. industry and innovation. From cybersecurity to mammograms and advanced manufacturing, innumerable technologies, services and products rely upon NIST expertise, measurement, and standards. NIST has a century-long tradition of partnering with business, universities, and other government agencies to support the nation’s vast innovation ecosystem.

NIST’s three central programs include:

  • The NIST Laboratories Program. NIST Laboratories address complex measurement challenges, ranging from the very small (nanoscale devices) to the very large (vehicles and buildings), from the physical (renewable energy sources) to the virtual (cybersecurity and cloud computing), and from fundamental (quantum measurements) to the applied (fire spread rates).

The NIST Laboratory Program provides industry, academia, and other federal agencies with:

  • Expertise and leadership in measurement science and best practices in a wide range of disciplines (e.g. physics, chemistry, materials science, information technology, and engineering), ranging from the most basic and to the most applied research to support commercialization and exchange of goods and services in industry and commerce; and
  • Facilities that support innovation in materials science, nanotechnology discovery and fabrication, and other emerging technology areas through the NIST Center for Neutron Research, and the NIST Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology;
  • Expertise in the development of consensus-based standards, test methods, evaluated data, and specifications that define technical and performance requirements for goods, services, and interfaces to improve interoperability.
  • The Hollings Manufacturing Extension Partnership (MEP). NIST provides technical and business assistance to smaller manufacturers through a nationwide network of grant-supported partnerships between federal and state governments and non-profit organizations. Field agents and programs in more than 400 locations nationwide help manufacturers understand, adopt, and apply new technologies and business practices, resulting in increased productivity, better performance, cost savings, waste reduction, and creation and retention of manufacturing jobs.
  • The Baldrige Performance and Excellence Program (BPEP). NIST provides criteria for organizational performance self-assessment and serves as a resource to improve U.S. innovation, entrepreneurship, and competitiveness in businesses/industry, education, health care, and government and other public benefit organizations. The BPEP is responsible for managing the Malcolm Baldrige Quality Improvement Act of 1987 (Public Law 100-107).


Acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and Acting NIST Director


Show content and files with any selected organizations or groups
Show content and files with any selected leadership officials
Narrow content and files by all selected categories
Narrow content and files by all selected tags

Related content


Image(s) included
Post a comment
Today, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker attended the Department of Commerce’s 68th Annual Honor Awards Ceremony, during which she recognized 286 employees with Gold...


Bureaus & Offices

Search by organization name or browse the tree below

  • Department of Commerce (DOC)
    • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
    • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
    • U.S. Census Bureau (Census)
    • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
    • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
      • National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
      • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
      • National Ocean Service (NOS)
      • National Weather Service (NWS)
      • Oceanic & Atmospheric Research (OAR)
      • Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO)
    • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
    • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
      • First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet)
    • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    • Office of the Secretary (OS)
      • Office of the Chief of Staff
      • Office of General Counsel (OGC)
      • Office of the Deputy Secretary
      • Office of Executive Secretariat
      • Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
        • Native American Affairs
      • Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
      • Office of Policy and Strategic Planning (OPSP)
      • Office of White House Liaison
      • Office of Inspector General (OIG)
      • Office of Business Liaison (OBL)
      • Office of the Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration (CFO/ASA)
      • Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
      • Enterprise Services
      • Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships